How many countries in Asia? List, Map, Capitals, Regions

countries in Asia

The continent of Asia spans the frozen tundras of Siberia to the tropical beaches of Bali — a place where you find the world’s tallest mountains and bustling areas with diverse populations.

Asia isn’t just a geographical entity; it’s a vibrant tapestry of cultures, languages, and histories. But do you know how many countries are there in Asia?

Let’s make an educated guess. Done?

Well, you will find out whether you are right or wrong real soon.

But before that let’s dive deep into the maps of the countries of Asia. Then we will see their names, capitals, currencies, polity and more.

Map of Asia: Political

Political Map of asia - countries in Asia
Source: Nations Online Project

Countries of Asia: List of Countries

Currently, there are 50 UN-recognized countries in Asia.

BahrainManamaBahraini Dinar
BruneiBandar Seri BegawanBrunei Dollar
CambodiaPhnom PenhRiel
China (PRC)BeijingYuan
East TimorDiliU.S. Dollar
EgyptCairoEgyptian Pound
IndiaNew DelhiIndian Rupee
IraqBaghdadIraqi Dinar
IsraelJerusalemIsraeli New Shekel
JordanAmmanJordanian Dinar
KazakhstanAstana (Nur-Sultan)Tenge
KuwaitKuwait CityKuwaiti Dinar
LebanonBeirutLebanese Pound
MalaysiaKuala LumpurRinggit
NepalKathmanduNepalese Rupee
North KoreaPyongyangNorth Korean Won
OmanMuscatOmani Rial
PakistanIslamabadPakistani Rupee
PalestineRamallah (adm. center)Israeli New Shekel, Jordanian Dinar
QatarDohaQatari Riyal
Saudi ArabiaRiyadhSaudi Riyal
SingaporeSingaporeSingapore Dollar
South KoreaSeoulSouth Korean Won
Sri LankaSri Jayawardenepura KotteSri Lankan Rupee
SyriaDamascusSyrian Pound
TurkeyAnkaraTurkish Lira
TurkmenistanAshgabatTurkmenistan Manat
UAEAbu DhabiUAE Dirham
UzbekistanTashkentUzbekistani Soʻm
YemenSana’aYemeni Rial

Asia: Political Regions

Asia can be divided into several political regions based on geographical, cultural, and economic characteristics. Here’s a breakdown of Asia into its primary political regions:

  1. East Asia: This region is characterized by a shared cultural and historical heritage.
    • Countries: China, Japan, South Korea, North Korea, Taiwan, Mongolia.
  2. Southeast Asia: This region has a rich diversity of cultures influenced by Indian, Chinese, Islamic, and Western civilizations.
    • Countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vietnam.
  3. South Asia: Often referred to as the Indian subcontinent, this region has a shared history and is predominantly influenced by Indian culture.
    • Countries: India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bhutan, Afghanistan (Afghanistan is sometimes also categorized in Central Asia).
  4. Central Asia: This region is known for its nomadic history and was a significant part of the ancient Silk Road.
    • Countries: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.
  5. West Asia: Often referred to as the Middle East, this region is the crossroads of Asia, Africa, and Europe and has a shared Islamic culture with variations.
    • Countries: Bahrain, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Yemen, Turkey (often transcontinental between Asia and Europe), Iran (sometimes categorized separately as part of the Iranian plateau).
  6. North Asia: This vast region mainly consists of Siberia and is part of Russia. It is sparsely populated and has a cold climate.
    • Countries: Russia (specifically the Asian part, as Russia is a transcontinental country).
  7. Caucasus (Transcaucasia): This region lies at the boundary of Eastern Europe and Western Asia.
    • Countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia (all three are sometimes considered part of Europe or at the crossroads of Europe and Asia).

It’s worth noting that these divisions are based on a mix of geography, culture, and history, and there can be overlaps and variations depending on different perspectives and sources. Each of these regions possesses its own unique characteristics and can be studied in depth for a more comprehensive understanding.

Asia: Key Political Organizations

Organization NamePurpose & FunctionKey Member Countries
ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations)Promotes political and economic cooperation and regional stability among Southeast Asian countries.Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam
SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation)Promotes regional integration and cooperation among South Asian nations.Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
SCO (Shanghai Cooperation Organization)Promotes mutual cooperation and stability, addressing issues like terrorism, separatism, and extremism.China, Russia, India, Pakistan, and the Central Asian countries (except Turkmenistan)
APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation)Aims to create greater prosperity for the region through economic integration.21 Pacific Rim countries, including Japan, South Korea, China, Russia, and the United States
CICA (Conference on Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia)Enhances cooperation for peace, security, and stability in Asia.27 member states, including India, China, Russia, and several Central Asian countries
EAS (East Asia Summit)Focuses on the development and sharing of a regional vision and strategies for ensuring stability and economic growth.18 countries including the ASEAN nations, Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Russia, and the U.S.
GCC (Gulf Cooperation Council)Economic and political alliance of six Middle Eastern countries.Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates
BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation)Fosters economic and technical cooperation among South Asian and Southeast Asian countries.Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand


How many countries are there in Asia?

Asia is composed of 50 countries, making it the continent with the second most number of nations after Africa (54).

Which is the largest country in Asia by land area?

Russia is the largest country in Asia by land area, though it’s a transcontinental nation that spans both Europe and Asia.

Which Asian country has the highest population?

India is estimated to be the country with the highest population in the World.

is Turkey in Europe or Asia?

Turkey is a transcontinental country, with a small part of its western region in Europe and the majority in Asia.

Which Asian countries are landlocked?

There are several landlocked countries in Asia, including Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bhutan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Mongolia, Nepal, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Which is the smallest country in Asia by land area?

Maldives is the smallest country in Asia by land area.

Are Cyprus and Armenia considered part of Asia?

Geographically, Cyprus is often considered part of Asia but politically and culturally, it’s associated with Europe. Armenia, on the other hand, is geographically in the South Caucasus region, which lies at the boundary between Europe and Asia, making it a transcontinental nation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 20 MB. You can upload: image, document, archive, other. Drop files here

Free UPSC MasterClass
This is default text for notification bar