Organisation of League of Nations

Organs of the League

1. The Assembly

This supreme body consisted of the representatives of the various states which were the members of the League. Every member had right of one vote in the Assembly. All decisions of the Assembly were required to be unanimous. It acted as International Legislature.

2. The Council

It originally consisted of four permanent members and four other members elected by the Assembly. In 1926, Germany was also given a permanent seat in the council. The number of non-permanent members continued to increase and ultimately it reached the figures of eleven.

3. The Secretariat

At Geneva. The Secretary General was the prominent figure. The Council appointed him but the approval of Assembly was essential. The Secretary General in consultation with the Council appointed the staff of the Secretariat. The member states had to pay towards the expenses of the Secretariat.

4. The Permanent Court of International Justice

It consisted of 15 judges with its headquarters at The Hague. It gave judgments on questions involving the interpretation of international law, treaties and other mutual obligations. The judges of the court were elected for nine years.

5. The International Labour Organisation

It was also attached to the League of Nations with its headquarters at Geneva. Its object was to improve the labour conditions in various parts of the world. Its governing body consisted of the representatives of the government, employers and workers.

Mandate system

It was set up by the League. The territories captured from the Central Powers and Turkey were not restored to them. The administration of those countries was given to various powers under the supervision of the League of Nations.

Online Counselling
Table of Contents
Today's Current Affairs
This is default text for notification bar