The Abel – International Prize of Mathematics

Awarded yearly, it recognizes pioneering scientific achievements in Mathematics. In 2023, it has been awarded to Luis Caffarelli for his work on partial differential equations.

Background of Abel Prize

  • The Abel Prize is named after Niels Henrik Abel, Norway’s greatest mathematician throughout the times. 
  • His mathematics has served as a base for several major technological breakthroughs, there amongst the development of the internet.  
  • The Abel Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament (The Stortinget) in 2002, on the occasion of the 200th anniversary of his birth.
  • The prize is also known as the Nobel prize for mathematics.
  • It was first awarded in 2003 
  • The prize includes a monetary award of 7.5 million kroner (roughly $ 720,000) and a glass plaque designed by Norwegian artist Henrik Haugan. 

Who administers the able prize?

  • Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. 
  • It is financed by the Norwegian government which also does not tax the prize money. 
  • The recipients are chosen by the Abel Committee, which comprises expert mathematicians, all appointed by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, under the advice of the International Mathematical Union (IMU) and the European Mathematical Society (EMS)

2023 Abel prize winner

  • Luis Caffarelli, 74, has won the 2023 Abel Prize for his seminal contributions to regularity theory for nonlinear partial differential equations including free-boundary problems and the Monge-Ampère equation”.
  • Caffarelli, from Argentina, is first Abel laureate from South America. Currently, he is a professor at the University of Texas, Austin.

Partial differential equations

  • According to Abel’s citation, “Partial differential equations arise naturally as laws of nature, whether to describe the flow of water or the growth of populations.
  • These equations have been a constant source of intense study since the days of Newton and Leibniz.

UPSC Prelims PYQ 2021:

Consider the following statements in respect of the Laureus World Sports Award which was instituted in the year 2000:

1. American golfer Tiger Woods was the first winner of this award.

2. The award was received mostly by “Formula One players so far.

3. Roger Federer received this award the maximum number of times compared to others.

Which of the above statements is correct?

    1. 1 and 2 only

    1. (b) 2 and 3 only

    1. (c) 1 and 3 only

    1. (d) 1, 2 and 3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 20 MB. You can upload: image, document, archive, other. Drop files here

Online Counselling
Table of Contents
Today's Current Affairs
This is default text for notification bar