Religious Teaching of Buddha

  • Buddhism is based upon triratnas i.e., Buddha(the enlightened), Dhamma(doctrine) and Sangha(commune).
  • The core of his doctrine is expressed in the Ariya-sachchani (Four Noble Truths):
    • there is suffering (dukkha);
    • it has a cause (dukh samudaya);
    • it can be removed (nirodha); and
    • There is a path leading to the cessation of sorrow (dukh nirodha gamini pratipada) the way to achieve this is following the Atthanga-magga (Eight-fold Path).
  • Ashtangik marga: It consists of right view, intention, speech, action, livelihood, effort, mindfulness, and concentration.
  • Buddha propagated Ashtangik marga also called Madhya marga (Middle Path) one between extreme indulgence and extreme asceticism.
  • He was always silent on the discussion of the existence of God but believed in rebirth.
  • Buddha was against caste system and opened the gates of Buddhism for all castes.
  • He allowed women to be admitted in sangha.
  • Buddha suggested that when desires are conquered, nirvana will be attained which means that a man will become free from the cycle of birth and rebirth.
  • Buddha’s chief disciple was Upali, and his favourite disciple was Ananda.
  • Buddha regarded the social world as creation of humans rather than of divine origin. Therefore, he advised kings and gahapatis to be humane and ethical.

Symbols Related to Buddha

Buddhist symbols related to Buddha’s life
Buddha’s BirthLotus & Bull
Great Departure (Mahabhinishkramana)Horse
First Sermon (Dhammachakraparivartan)Bodhi Tree
First Sermon (Dhamma chakraparivartan)Wheel
Death (Parinirvana)Stupa
Free UPSC MasterClass
This is default text for notification bar