Religious Philosophy of Jainism

  • They believe in Triratnas i.e. Right faith, Right action and Right character.
  • 5 vows of Jainism:
    • Ahimsa: Non-injury
    • Satya: Non-lying
    • Asetya: Non-stealing
    • Aparigraha: Non-possession
    • Brahmacharya: Chastity
  • Jains texts condemn sanctity of Vedas and were against animal sacrifices in yagyas. They however were silent on the caste system.
  • Jain monks and nuns practiced Sallekhana i.e., fasting until death.
  • Jain philosophy shares many ideals with Sankhya philosophy of Hinduism.
Free UPSC MasterClass
This is default text for notification bar