The Sevottam Model of service delivery

The Sevottam Model of service delivery
  • The Sevottam model was created with the overarching goal of improving the country’s quality of public service delivery. There are three components to the model, and in addition to the overarching goal, intermediate outcomes are expected from compliance with conditions designed for each of these three components.
  • The model’s first component necessitates effective charter implementation, which creates a channel for citizens’ input into how organisations determine service delivery requirements. 
  • Citizens’ Charters make information on citizens’ entitlements available to the public, making citizens more informed and thus empowering them to demand better services.
  • The model’s second component, ‘Public Grievance Redress,’ necessitates a good grievance redress system that, regardless of the final decision, leaves citizens more satisfied with how the organisation responds to complaints/ grievances.
  • The third component, ‘Excellence in Service Delivery,’ asserts that an organisation can achieve excellent service delivery performance only if it effectively manages the key ingredients for good service delivery and builds its capacity to improve delivery over time. 
  • How closely improvement actions are linked to assessment results will determine how effective such an assessment model is at influencing service delivery quality. Furthermore, any assessment model must be updated regularly to keep up with new developments.
  • Change management and research and development, in addition to the administration of the assessment process and its culmination in certification or awards, have been identified as important focus areas for running this model.

What should a civil servant do to improve the quality of service

  • Automate the processes
    • Reengineering process
    • Train the staff

Main Objectives of Sevottam:

  1. Improve the country’s public service delivery quality.
  2. Intermediate results: Compliance with the conditions designed for each of these three components is expected to produce intermediate results. Citizen Empowerment, Redress Satisfaction, and Capacity Enhancement are among them. 

Defects in previous public-service delivery systems

Online Counselling
Today's Current Affairs
This is default text for notification bar